Driving Under the Influence in Illinois
Getting charged with Driving Under the Influence can be a life altering event. Just a first time DUI with no aggravating factors is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois, which means it carries a maximum possible penalty of up to $2,500 in fines and/or up to 364 days in jail. You will also be required to obtain an alcohol or substance abuse evaluation, undergo the recommended treatment, and attend a victim impact panel. Aside from the fine amount, the court costs can be substantial as well. The cost of just the fines, court costs, and treatment programs alone can be over $3,000. When other costs are factored in such as higher insurance rates, loss of driving privileges, and employment ramifications, the State of Illinois estimates that the total average cost of a DUI conviction can be over $16,000.
Make no mistake; DUI’s are serious business, which is why it is imperative to have an attorney on your side who understands the complexities of D.U.I. cases. Your money, driving privileges, and potentially your freedom are at stake. At Bloomington Law Group, Attorney Bijan Partowazam has the experience necessary to ensure your rights are fully protected and will work tirelessly to defend your DUI case. Contact Bloomington Law Group to set up a free consultation.